Astronomy, Chemistry, Physics, and Interdisciplinary Databases:
Applied Science & Technology Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts general science and engineering periodicals in covering
various aspects of engineering, mathematics, physics, and computer technology.
1984-present.
Astrophysics Data System
Indexes and abstracts journals in astronomy, astrophysics, geophysics,
instrumentation, and physics.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
The 2000 version of the database has physical property data on
many chemical compounds, physics forumlae, and integral tables.
Access: This product is used through a Citrix ICA Client. If you try the resource link and have trouble, you may need a one time software download .
If you already have the ICA Client, click the resource link below.
Click here to connect to: CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
How to Print from the CRC Handbook
Cambridge Structural Database System
Mode of access: Contact Bruce Noll at the Molecular Structure Facility, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry: www.nd.edu/~bnoll
Includes bibliographic, chemical and crystallographic information for organic molecules and metal-organic compounds whose 3D structures have been determined using X-ray diffraction or neutron diffraction.
CrossFire (XF)
Description: Online version of Beilstein and Gmelin which include
reaction paths and physical property data for organic, inorganic, organometallic
compounds. 1771-present
Connect to XF 7.0 via ICA Citrix client (this requires a one-time installation of the ICA Citrix client)
For those wanting to download the CrossFire software
- Download PC client (XF 7.0)
- Download Mac client (XF 6.0) - Version 6.0 is the last and most recent version available. MDL will no longer make XF cllients for the Mac. (Aug.2004)
Dissertation Abstracts
The complete range of academic subjects appearing in dissertations accepted
at accredited institutions. 1861-present.
General Science Abstracts
Journals and magazines from the U.S. and Great Britain, covering such
subjects as anthropology, astronomy, biology, computers, earth sciences,
medicine, and health. 1984-present.
INSPEC
(Physics Abstracts)
Provides access to the world's scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers, computing, information technology, manufacturing, production and mechanical engineering.. 1898-present.
Journal Citation Reports
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) provides easy access to data (impact factors,
most cited journals, etc.) that helps you evaluate and compare scholarly
journals.
NCBI - Entrez
Established in 1988, the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), is a national resource for molecular biology information. NCBI creates public databases, develops software tools for analyzing genome data, and disseminates biomedical information.
Organic Syntheses
Presents detailed experimental methods for synthesis of organic compounds.1921-present.
Patents:
U.S. Patent & Trademark Office
Search more than 2 million U.S. patent applications or grants since 1976, including bibliographic texts, abstracts, and all claims. Search by patent number or classification for patents issued 1790 to 1975.Download U.S. patents (in PDF)
Must have U.S. patent number to get free PDF version of patent.esp@cenet
European Patent Office
Preprints:
CERN
Monthly listings from 1994 onwards of preprints from CERN, preprints received and scanned at CERN, and some of Los Alamos eprint archives.
Los Alamos National Labs
Started in Aug 1991, xxx.lanl.gov is a fully automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers. Covered areas include physics and related disciplines, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, computational linguistics, and neuroscience.
SLAC
Search more than 400,000 high-energy physics related articles, including journal papers, preprints, e-prints, technical reports, conference papers and theses, received by the SLAC and/or DESY libraries since 1974.
ProceedingsFirst
Citations of every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop
and meeting received at The British Library.
SciFinder Scholar
Chemical Abstracts back to 1907.
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary/Interdisciplinary subject author searching AND cited
reference searching. There are three sections to this database:
Science 1900 - present
Social Science 1956 - present
Arts & Humanities 1975 - present
Other Science Databases:
Biological Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts current research in agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, botany, ecology, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology. 1985-present.
Compendex (Engineering Index)
Ei covers literature that makes a definite contribution to knowledge in the subject areas of applied physics, chemical and process engineering, civil engineering, computers and data processing, electronics communication, and mechanical engineering. 1884-
GeoRef (info)
GeoRef is the CD-ROM version of the American Geological Institute's geoscience database containing over 1.9 million records of North America since 1785, and other areas of the world since 1933.
MathSciNet
MathSciNet covers Mathematical Reviews and provides the full text of all reviews from 1940 to the present.
Medline
[FirstSearch interface] [PubMed interface]
Journals published internationally, covering all areas of medicine. 1965-present.
10/06/2006